Article Published in LEA Receives the 2014 Leonardo Award for Excellence

Lanfranco Aceti (Editor in Chief, Leonardo Electronic Almanac) and Ozden Sahin (Co-editor) are delighted to announce that the 2014 Leonardo Award for Excellence has been awarded to Conor McGarrigle for his article published in Not Here Not There, LEA’s volume on art and augmented reality (Vol. 19 No. 1, 2013).

McGarrigle’s article “Augmented Resistance: The Possibilities for AR and Data Driven Art” “discusses the possibilities for Augmented Reality (AR) as a driver of data based art.” 

Conor McGarrigle is an artist and researcher working at the intersection of digital networks and real space. His work is concerned with the integration of location-aware technologies into the everyday and the spatial implications of ubiquitous data collection regimes.  His practice is characterized by digitally mediated urban interventions, with projects ranging from situationist dérives to augmented reality mappings of the geography of the Irish financial collapse.

Exhibitions include the 2011 Venice Biennale, SIGGRAPH, La Biennale internationale du design de Saint-Étienne, FILE São Paulo and SITE Santa Fe. He received his Ph.D. from the Dublin Institute of Technology in 2012 and is currently a faculty member at the University of Denver.

The Leonardo Award for Excellence recognizes excellence in articles published in Leonardo publications. Previous winners include Rudolf Arnheim, Otto Piene, Charles Ames, Frieda Stahl, Donna Cox, Janet Saad-Cook, George Gessert, Alvin Curran, Karen O’Rourke, Eduardo Kac, Hubert Duprat with Christian Besson, José Carlos Casado with Harkaitz Cano, Bill Seaman, Arthur Elsenaar with Remko Scha and Steve Mann.

Leonardo journal and book series editors, staff editors and project heads reviewed all articles published in Leonardo, Leonardo Music Journal and Leonardo Electronic Almanac in 2013 to select this year’s winner.

More information about the Leonardo Awards Program.

Leonardo Electronic Almanac is a collaborative effort between The MIT Press; Leonardo/ISAST; Goldsmiths, University of London; and New York University, Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development.